Remington 57 primers

Discussion in 'Reloading Bench' started by pedulla, Mar 11, 2021.

1. pedulla

pedulla Member

I am new to reloading, I have some Remington 57 primers, can they be used in STS hulls, 1 oz loads?

2. Trap3

Trap3 Mega Poster

I don`t think they will fit properly. Too small diameter for today`s hulls...

Trap3

3. Pat Savage

Pat Savage Well-Known Member

They are smaller. They were for the Game/hunting loads. They quit making them about 30 years ago. Look at any of the reloading manuals such as Lyman's #3. They are only listed for Hunting loads. This manual will list the Hulls that will work. I used to load with them for my Duck and Goose Hunting loads. They work fine for that. I don't think there were any Target loads listed in that manual. Anyway if you use them they will not stay in the Primer pocket as they are considerably smaller diameter.

Bc99 and Trap3 like this.
  4. Flyersarebest

Flyersarebest Moderator Founding Member Forum Leader

How old do you have to be to remember #57's, a plastic drinking straw, a razor knife, and the patience of Job.

oleolliedawg and History Seeker like this.
  5. Michael jenis

Michael jenis Well-Known Member

How do you do the straw trick ?? I have a few of those old primers too.

6. Flyersarebest

Flyersarebest Moderator Founding Member Forum Leader

The straw was the "bushing" to take up the difference in diameter. First thing you need is the correct size straw.

I think? the In Line muzzle loader guys can buy a smaller plug and use the #57's. Just in case you want to sell them to someone that can use them instead of getting out the Band-Aids.

7. pump gun guy

pump gun guy Active Member

You can either glue them in with apoxy or use the straw bushing . I just use them in my muzzle loader. The primer pocket in my muzzle loader does fine with them. They fit a bit loose but work fine.

8. bobski

bobski USN Retired Range Owner

too much work. just triple fold a napkin and ram it thru and cut it off.