Mistakes that haunt you

Discussion in 'Hunters' Talk & Fish Tales -' started by greenman006, Aug 13, 2021.

1. greenman006

greenman006 Active Member

I am trying to deal with a mistake or maybe several I made over the past two weekends. I have been hunting from the same tree now for 3 years. Last year I got my first deer/buck from this tree. Last weekend on my first real attempt on rattling and grunting a buck, I pulled one within 5 minutes of the first sequence. he came right to the tree I was in and stopped with nothing between us except a heavily laden sapling. I opted to wait for him to present a better shot and watched as he put his nose to the ground and picked up the scent of something he didn't like and was gone. Raising the elevation of the stand that morning from my typical 20' to the new 30' height seemed like a good idea at the time. MISTAKE #1. I really didn't want to get busted and height has its advantages. As I descended later that day and came down to the 20' level, I realized I could have made the shot from there and wouldn't have had to wait for him to present a better one. Having shot this buck would have prevented me from second guessing my actions and I would have been here in this tree the next day. Since I didn't shoot this deer I began to look at the area he came in from MISTAKE #2 and noticed a lot of trail activity 50+ yards to the west of me. I moved the next day to an intercept position approx. 50yds form the tree and trail I had been hunting. MISTAKE #3 at around 8oam a nice 8-10 pointer (I say 8-10 pointer because I have trained myself not to count points on deer that are still standing, so I really don't know) comes into view and totally ignores all attempts to grunt rattle and snort wheeze him in my direction and then proceeds to walk within 10' of the tree I just moved from, 6 ' actually.