Dillon or RCBS

Discussion in 'Reloading Bench' started by srp41, Dec 19, 2020.

1. srp41

srp41 Active Member

Which one for 12 ga. shells

2. Sgoose

Sgoose Mega Poster Founding Member

My opinion is neither. I would go with a PW 800+or other models. Have used one for the last 40 years. Call PW Idaho or Jim (Whiz)White
    in South Dakota at S&W Supply.

Sgoose

3. Wayne J

Wayne J Mega Poster

What Sgoose said.

4. Pat Savage

Pat Savage Well-Known Member

I am familiar with all of these mentioned, Dillon, RCBS, and the PW. Dillion is the best for progressive Rifle /Pistol reloading,
    But, for shotshells PW is by far the best. I have owned all three. For less issues, such as primer feeding, Wad insertion, crimp start and final crimp, the PW is the best. I have been reloading shotshells for more than 40 years, I have loaded for Hunting and Clay target shooting for all those years. Unless you get a really super deal on one of the other two, I would spend my money for the PW. I have owned several PW's and now reload with an 800+. I load more than one gauge on the same machine. The changeover to other gauges is quick and simple. I can be reloading a different gauge in just a few minutes, with no/or few minor adjustments. The Spolar is really good, but a lot of bucks and the difference in not enough to get me to spend more than double the money.
    The service from all three companies is top notch.

5. mission6222

mission6222 Mega Poster

Hard to beat the start up price of the mec . you cab buy the single stage, used for $100.00 often, a nice grabber for 250.00 a 9000 for around 350. If you are on a budget ( who is not) these are good entry level loaders.

6. Gia1

Gia1 Mega Poster