Browning BT-99AR

Discussion in 'Off Topic!' started by tshoot1, Mar 1, 2019.

1. tshoot1

tshoot1 Well-Known Member

Anyone had any BAD experience with the AR model relating to forearm cracking or comming loose? Thanks!

2. turbo38gn

turbo38gn obsessed newbie

I'm no expert, but seems to me the AR model basically just has the raised , adjustable top rail.. can't really see where that model alone would have issues with the forearm over other models. Although, I did read the Monsoor model AR's had some kind of a thicker forearm. I actually have 2 BT99's, new to me, now, one does have the raised AR and it's an older Plus model, no problems with the forearm

3. tshoot1

Thanks very much. I'm looking at one right now, but fellow shooter at my gun club bought one when they first came out and had to send it back to Browning twice and NEVER got it fixed. Was without gun for over 5 months. So just a little Leary.

4. turbo38gn

I did an awful lot of research on the BT99 before buying mine.. the reviews are as good as any.. you won't find a better gun.

5. tshoot1

Did you get the BT-99AR or Std. BT-99? THANKS.

6. wpt

wpt Forum Leader Founding Member Forum Leader

If you are concerned about quality I know where there is a like new MX 2000/8 combo set for sale ... Them Barthelow Boys seems to get along really good with the Brownings they shoot, probably lucked out and got good ones ... WPT ... (YAC) ...

7. turbo38gn

I got the BT99 Golden Clay and I am waiting on a used BT99 AR Plus.. I shot one of my friends 99AR.. it was also an older model, no issues with the forearm, was fine and it shot great..

8. Adam Cline

Adam Cline Active Member

I had one from 2002 that keep breaking screws in forearm. Browning has done an update since kinda like a recall they will fix it if you take forearm the new have a screw or bolt in forearm where receiver and forearm go together this solved the problem. Never had mine done due to not using it anymore but that was a a while ago.